Dharamshila Narayana Superspeciality Hospital

Patient Helpline 186-0208-0208

International Patient +91-7290084245

Mail Us info.dnsh@narayanahealth.org

Text Size

Types of Lung Cancer

Lung Cancer is largely classified into two main types based on the cancer′s appearance under a microscope viz. Small Cell Carcinoma which accounts for only 20% of the total lung cancer’s and Non small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC) which accounts for 80% of lung cancers.

  • Small cell carcinoma: It generally starts in one of the larger breathing tubes, grows fairly rapidly, and is likely to be large by the time of diagnosis.
  • Non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC): It is further classified into the following:
  • Epidermoid carcinoma or Squamous cell carcinoma: It forms in the lining of the bronchial tubes and it usually starts from one of the larger breathing tubes and grows relatively slowly.
  • Adenocarcinoma: It starts forming in the mucus-producing glands of the lungs. It is most common type of lung cancer that occurs in Women’s and Non-smokers.
  • Large cell carcinoma: This kind of NSCLC initiates near the surface of the lung and it grows rapidly.

Post Your Query

Call 186-0208-0208
Mon–Sat 9:00 AM to 6:00 PM IST